A Wing Challenge You Could Die For

Back in high school we used to run out to Hooters during lunch time and order 50 wings, take them back to school, and then race to see who could eat the most before the bell for class rang. Here might be a Tampa food eating challenge that rivals that one for indigestion!

I love wings! I like them with just about any sauce. Grilled and Fried naked are my favorite…the more well done the better. Well not far from where I grew up and located on Bell Lake, is Rapscallions, a neighborhood restaurant and bar that features the Davy Jones Wings Challenge. For only $12.99 you get wings doused in their original Black Beard’s Revenge hot sauce, featured on the Travel Channel‘s Man vs. Food show. You even have to sign a waiver beforehand and have to be 18 or older. You eat the wings in 30 minutes or less and you can’t water it down with any other food or drinks. You then get to sit for 5 minutes and savor the pain before being awarded with your picture on their Wall of Fame. I’ll be honest, you don’t go here for the atmosphere just to make history and meet nice folks.

No chance I’ll ever be trying this, but it is nice to dream big! I still remember enjoying the original Buffalo wings at Anchor Bar in Buffalo, NY near where my grandfather was born.

Rapscallions
4422 Land O’ Lakes Blvd
Land O’ Lakes, FL 34639
(813) 235-6511

Question: What is your favorite wing place? How do you like them?

Here is a video of a guy taking his best shot at Rapscallions:


4 thoughts on “A Wing Challenge You Could Die For

  1. I like wings, spicy wings even, but I am kind of a newbie at them, I was never a huge fan until a few years ago.They are a lot of work for a little bit of food. That said, I like Hooters and Buffalo Wild Wings. Also, there is no way I would be doing this wing challenge. I love spicy but NO.

Leave a Reply

